Nanowrimo week 3

I didn’t post last week because I was busy writing, and by busy writing I mean I avoided posting, and also I was busy writing. But today is day 16 and I’m at 34,062 words (past day 20 but 938 words from day 21’s word count). The thing is, I’m proud of myself, I’ve written more in my 2016 novel compared to my 2015, 2014, 2009 and 2008 novels. 2015 novel came to 17,284 at day 18 (word count for that day is 30k), 2014 novel came to 20,762 at day 22 (word count for that day is 33,333), 2009 came to 66 words not too sure at what day and 2008 came to 57 words also not too sure at what day.

It’s interesting, at how different the word counts all come together. I noticed around day 10 I drop off this year I didn’t, but all my previous ones I had a community sure, I had friends who were doing it and we bounced off each other and all, but maybe this year I have a lot more, I’ve got a discord group I talk to, I join in on the Virtual Write-ins whether it is live or not (that’s what I like about these write-ins because its good live and it’s good recorded no matter what), my boyfriend has rewards for me (one of them is a little secret and private, well not private but eh, and an official cute date where we go out for dinner and stuff, I’m excited about that last one tbh), I have rewards for me (play Pokemon Moon when I hit the 1,667 word count), I’m organising write-ins for my local community and I even go to the library myself.

Writing isn’t fun I’ve noticed, but I have people who are proud of me and I want to continue it because it’s something I would love to do. But I feel like something is different, maybe it’s because I have people asking me my word count and how my writing has gone, and so on and so forth. Motiviation has been a bit tough but even my smallest word count for that day (12 words) is still 12 more words then I would’ve written if I decided to say “fuck it” and gone to bed. If I take one day off who knows what’ll happen (look at 2015, 2014, 2009 and 2008 stories and there’s your answer). I’ve got 15,938 words left until I hit 50k, I will win and I will be able to say that I have written a novel. It’ll be perfect.

goodbye

Leave a Reply

