Women supporting women

          I thought I would split up the school blog entries with my own thought on something, and that’s the idea of ‘women supporting women’, recently was International Women’s Day (which, yes, there is an International Men’s Day, it’s November 19th and it’s something that’s only Googled on International Women’s Day). I am a feminist, I believe in intersectional feminism, I believe that every women no matter the colour of their skin, their gender, sexuality, interests, education etc, is amazing. However, I will not support women who hate other women, or who try to put down women.

          I’m not American, I’m very Australian, in the way I speak, where I live and I spell words with u’s and not o’s or without o’s. But I do support the idea that Bernie Sanders should be President over Hilary Clinton. Now I’m not saying Hilary is a strong woman, she’s amazing at the fact that she’s running for president and she does have ideals I agree with; however, in the past month at a talk Madeline Albright said:

“There is a special place in hell for women who don’t help other women.”

          Of course this quote isn’t exclusive to Hilary, and I do believe in this quote, I believe that if someone as a woman, as a non-binary person born as a woman (AFAB), if you don’t support women and you constantly put them down with slurs, with derogatory words, etc. then you’re really not helping anything. I don’t like that this quote is associated with Hilary, I don’t like Hilary political wise, she’s probably an amazing person on a personal level, but as a politician I don’t like her. Now, Albright apologised for her statement, she stated that:

“I did not mean to argue that women should support a particular candidate based solely on gender. But I understand that I came across as condemning those who disagree with my political preferences. If heaven were open only to those who agreed on politics, I imagine it would be largely unoccupied.”

          I don’t believe Clinton as a good candidate for women because of previous situations where in 1975, she defended a child-rapist by attacking the 12 year old girl. Now, as The Washington states, it’s not wrong for him to have a good lawyer to defend him, no matter the crime the prosecuted deserves a lawyer, but the way she attacked the girl by saying things like the girl was “emotionally unstable” and she had a “tendency to seek out older men and engage in fantasizing,” and sure this happened during the 1970’s, but feminism was still alive and well. While her husband, Bill Clinton, was president there was a big scandal revolving around Bill and other women, Hilary chose to stand by him. She proclaims that every sexual assault survivor has a “right to be believed” yet, the women who accused Bill were not believed. A lot of it’s listed here by the National Review, with quotes on what she has said about it all.

          Supporting women is great, but to support a woman just because she’s a woman isn’t my cup of tea. I don’t want to support a woman who murdered someone, I don’t want to support a woman who cheated, I don’t want to support a woman, because I have to, as my right as a person with female sexual organs. It isn’t fair. Head of Women at the UN Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka said “Because she is a woman, she has got our support.” I do agree, that we should support women, especially ones that are in politics, but for what reason do we support them? Their views, or their gender/sex? I am in the LGBTQ+ community (pansexual and androgyny), but Hilary only started supporting LGBT rights recently, in 2013. It’s great that she’s supporting the community, it’s great that she’s turned around about it, but half the time politicians are only doing it to follow. Bernie Sanders has been supporting the community since the 70s where the rights were only coming to light.

          In the same time that Albright said “there’s a special place in hell for women who don’t support women”; Gloria Steinem, a known feminist said female millennials are only supporting Bernie Sanders ‘for the boys’, her full quote said:

“Women are more for [Clinton] than men are. Men tend to get more conservative because they gain power as they age, women get more radical because they lose power as they age.

They’re going to get more activist as they grow older. And when you’re younger, you think: ‘Where are the boys? The boys are with Bernie.’”

          Steinem has since aplologised for her statement, but it doesn’t just stop there because of what she said. I’m not supporting Sanders because I want to find a boyfriend, I’ve already got a boyfriend and we both support Sanders independently. We’re both feminist, and we both believe that Clinton is not a good candidate. It’s disgusting that all these 2nd wave feminists think that we have to support a woman candidate because she’s a woman, yes I will admit it would be cool for Clinton to win because maybe her winning can help other young girls decide to become a politician. But, Sander’s views and his wants for the next America are what they need. They don’t need a Trump to make ‘America Great Again’ with his sexist, homophobic and racist comments. They don’t need a Clinton to ‘support women because they’re women’ with her stance on foreign policy and the death penalty. They need Bernie Sanders who can offer free education, health care and to raise the minimum wage.

          Politics are confusing and annoying, but hopefully once the American elections are over, Sanders will win. Then I can talk about the Australian elections. Again, I’m not anti-Clinton or anti-Woman, I’m just anti-Clinton Using Her Gender As A Reason To Vote For Her.

goodbye

Leave a Reply

