Library searches

          I have to use OPAC, also I have to catch up on blog post assignments too so this’ll be fun, and it’ll be fine. Everything will be okay! I am listening to my ambient sounds playlist on Spotify (it includes the tones of video game soundtracks, movie soundtracks and general ambient/non-words music), it’s great, give it a listen! Now onto pressing matters, like a libraries OPAC system.

          I decided to choose my local library’s OPAC system, now on the initial page all they have on the page is searching and to login (I forgot my details so I can’t show you what it looks like with a logged in system), it seems all very … basic? I want to say, but at the same time you don’t want something that’s very over complicated and confusing.

first page

          When searching you can find by title, author, subject, series, isbn/issn number or tag; you can also find by ‘All Fields’. If I search for something in one of these fields, I’m going to find something in it. I’m looking for Harry Potter in All Fields, there are multiple listings (of course, it’s a popular novel) from the first book right to the last; however I’ll get books from J.K. Rowling, eBooks, the movies, books about Harry Potter from different authors.

search

          When you’ve searched for the book in question you’ll get this, it has suggested topics from: Potter, Harry (fictional character), Juvenile Fiction, Wizards, Fantasy fiction, Schools, Bibliography, etc. There’s 73 things in a search for Harry Potter, it showcases the objects in this section with title, author, year it’s published, location, call number, status, if you want to reserve it, what object it is (first two are CD’s) and to add that object to your favourites.

tags

          Lastly, we have tags to specify your search: the location of the book, since my local library is a regional library there are many locations where you can find specific books at. The author, format, genre, the era (I assume when something was published?), region, collection, language and lastly the year of publication.

          The user interface is easy to use, it’s very basic but then again where I live congregates a lot of elderly people who might not understand any sort of complicated OPAC system. But I did find what I was looking for, and it is helpful when need be. OPAC systems are all different, but they’re generally the same thing.

goodbye

Leave a Reply

