The One

          This is a blog post I’ve been wanting to write for… God knows how long. It’s been on my mind for at least a few months and look who’s finally writing it as they avoid everything known to man kind. But so far my blog has been about school things, which yes if you’re e-mail subscribed to me I’m sorry, but I am a serious procrastinator (I mean the previous sentence says it all). Though I do intend to finally write own my thoughts on subjects and opinions and such that I have of certain things like society, my own life, media, etc.

          I can’t remember when it was, but I was sitting next to my mum and I asked her if she believed in ‘The One‘ that stories try to sell us, our soulmate of sorts. She tells me, that the one can be someone you meet at the time and their your one for that moment in your life, that you can have multiple ones in your life time, then she probably told me a fart joke or something, I can’t exactly remember but I imagine that’s what she did, and it kind of shows her personality I suppose.

          When I was 13 my parents separated which ended up in a divorce (legally in Australia you have to be separated by a year before you can get divorced, it shows that you won’t get back together any time soon and in case you make a mistake in wanting to separate). The marriage went for 16 years before they decided to cut it, mum told me that when they were dating and their marriage she believed dad was the one at that time and now that she’s married to my step dad she believes he’s the one for her now. I guess, in some ways it’s true.

          Of course I don’t know if my first ex was a real person or my friend cat fishing me, but let’s go on the assumption that he was a real person. I was 14 and yeah sure, 14 what the hell, but just hear me out for a moment. I was 14 and he wrote me a song and he was sweet and understanding but it was my first relationship and it was long distance so I had to end it. At the time, I thought he was the one (okay yeah yeah I was 14 shut up) and I wanted to marry him. Though it ended up not happening (obviously) and I left it at that.

          Now, I’m with someone who I know is The One and maybe that’s the hopeless romantic in me, but you know he sounds pretty promising. I guess when you get screwed over by so many people you kind of latch onto whoever shows you the least bit of attention, of course I didn’t really latch onto him but you know I’m like “hey he’s nice, he’s paying attention to me”, though that’s in friendships too so.

          I decided to look up ‘soulmates’ on Google and there’s a list article from LifeHack.org that talks about the 18 Signs You’ve Found Your Soulmate, so hey let’s go through with the to see if I’ve found my soulmate in my boyfriend!

  1. You just know it.
    I guess so, I mean I had that feeling that we were meant for each other you know? Like it’s hard to explain, but I feel like I’ve known him before, that there’s something close between us.
  2. You have crossed paths before.
    Not going to lie, this is kind of true. Before my parents divorced we live a few suburbs over, and when Krispy Kreme first came to my state (or at least the closest one to where I used to live) it was in the same shopping complex that he lived a 15 minute walk from, I would catch the same train line all of last year for my tafe course that he lived on, his grandma lives in the same town as me and he’d come down during the holidays to my town and be tourists, (my town is a beach town and during summer the tourists come down here and yeah). So I have to say this is actually pretty freaking accurate.
  3. Your souls meet at the right time.
    I guess so? I mean I met him at a Rooster Teeth fan meet up when I wasn’t looking to have a crush. I had a crush on a guy I met on OkCupid who ended up saying ‘remember, we’re friends’ though he was always being rather suggestive and such, a guy at my tafe who would go and not go to class, and then the middle of last year (yeah okay I crush quite frequently, shut up) I got screwed over by a guy who ended up getting screwed over by his ex-girlfriend who I told him not to date. But I guess even how many times we could have met, we met then because I got over my anxiety and decided to go.
  4. Your quiet space is a peaceful place.
    He’ll be playing League of Legends on my computer and I’ll be on Snapchat or Instagram, I guess being quiet together (give or take how dumb the match is, or if I’m watching video snaps), it’s peaceful.
  5. You can hear the other person’s silent thoughts.
    No. We’re not mind readers, this is dumb.
  6. You feel each other’s pain.
    Again, we don’t have pain detection. I feel empathetic, but I can’t physically feel his pain.
  7. You know each other’s flaws and the benefits in them.
    Yeah, I mean (okay I know he’s not perfect, but it was very difficult to think of something) he goes to bed early and wakes up early, he’s an early bird whereas I’m a night owl (okay I might have rigged that for him so now he goes to bed later… I’m a bit of a bad influence I can’t help it). So I can send him cute messages for him to wake up to and he can do the same, okay maybe it’s not a flaw but I couldn’t think of anything…
  8. You share the same life goals.
    Sort of. I want to be a writer, he’s not a writer he’s bad at words, but he can do computers and that’s why he wants to be in the I.T. field. We both want to move out and get jobs and what not, we’re not too phased about marriage and we both don’t like kids, so I suppose we share them?
  9. You’re not afraid of having a conversation.
    Look, we had the marriage talk like a month or two into our relationship. IT WAS TOTALLY ON ACCIDENT! I sent him a video about Rose and Rosie’s marriage video and thought it was cute. I’m not afraid of any conversation.
  10. You are not threatened by the need for alone time.
    We live 2 1/2 hours away via public transport. We’re cool about alone time.
  11. You don’t experience jealousy.
    Before we were together, sure, now? Not in the slightest. Especially since both of our best friends are the opposite sex, I know that he has more friends that are female, and he knows that I have more friends that are males. We’re both cool with it, because we both love each other.
  12. You respect each other’s differences and opinions.
    Mostly I guess, we both have similar opinions on things like feminism, racism, sexism, all the isms. I think the only difference we have on things are like video games and comic books.
  13. You don’t scream, curse, or threaten each other with divorce.
    This is stupid. Don’t do this.
  14. You give in because you want to make your partner happy.
    Of course!
  15. You know how to apologize.
    I’m a very stubborn person, and I know that. I have to have everything my way, but he’s the first person that I get over my stubbornness for.
  16. You would marry each other again.
    I mean I know I want to marry him, but I’m a bit too young and poor for that. Again? I’ve never been divorced.
  17. You complete each other.
    I’m more English, he’s more I.T., maths, science, that sort of thing. I’m more social (for the one who has anxiety), whereas he’s a homebody. I’m an ambivert (combination of introvert and extrovert, though if I had to choose I’m more intro), he’s an introvert. We have our similarities, and our difference. I love Mass Effect, and he’s just wrong. It happens.
  18. Being in each other’s arms washes away all your stress, worries, and anxiety.
    God, yes. Because I don’t see him often, it just makes everything so much better. Even when I talk to him on the phone and he tells me everything’s okay I feel so much better.

          Though one thing is that, don’t most soulmates share life experiences? I mean I believe that they would at least have some similarities which we both have. But hey, I guess soulmates are something that I can’t come to defining point even if I wanted to in this entry. If we’re totaling this on how many yes’ and no’s I got, it was 15/18 or 83% (yes I googled that), I don’t know what to come of it, I believe he’s my soulmate even without reading that article list, and maybe like what my mum said he’s my one at the time. But who knows, maybe he’s my one no matter what, or maybe he’s my one right now. Whatever life brings me I intend to go with the flow.

goodbye

Leave a Reply

